Tags

, , , , ,

This is the high season for us Streamkeepers.
There is no drug available like walking up the rushing creek, treading careful so as not to step on the redds (nests of the Salmon – well-camouflaged) and watching for and counting the live and spawned out salmon.

I called out during my last expedition of Stoney Creek when I had my finger caught in the teeth on a spawned out female Chum. The rubber glove ripped and I was cut slightly. It won’t be recorded as a heroic act of stream keeping. Spawned out means “dead”. or Morte.

All the crew and volunteers of SCEC.ca have recorded more than 1,000 chum spawners this year on Stoney Creek. We are eagerly awaiting the Coho. The streamkeepers have counted few so far, and we await with some trepidation.

Hop down to Stoney Creek this weekend. Please. Keep an eye out for spawners on the creek. It is an amazing site. Enjoy!

Vivian

