Tags

, , ,

I have been organizing the salvage plants on my UniverCity balcony. I check on the health of the plants, and make-sure my balcony is kept in reasonable order even while I’m acting as plant-storage facility.

It has been another opportunity to look closer at the small trees, ferns and mosses.

My curiosity was peaked by a moss.

I must admit when Dave told me he had found sphagnum
I wasn’t totally in the know. I had an idea that it was a moss.

I think “smegma”…aka speaks Dave Lister in the Red Dwarf, the British Sci Fi Comedy.

As a self-proclaimed armchair scientist, however enthusiastic, I have a responsibility for a little more detail!

Tonight I looked up in Revised: Plants of Coastal British Columbia: including Washington, Oregon & Alaska” Pojar Mackinnon, Lone Pine 2004 (original in 1994).

      Sphagnum

aka smegma

      😉 is a Peat Moss.

 

      and “common component of forests, cliff-faces and fens.” p 447

“If one listens carefully while standing in a patch of fruting Sphagnum [on dry, sunny days…when capsules open by an impulsive mechanism] one can hear the capsules imploding. p 447 Pojar Mackinnon “There are “about 40 species in our region”

Has this jarred your remembrance?

Burns Bog ecosystem is largely defined by sphagnum.
Jees. I’ve attended 3 International Bog Day events (held at the end of July each year) at Burns Bog and I never knew the scientific name of Peat Moss.

Shows how far you can go on enthusiasm! 🙂

I don’t know if we have large enough patches on Burnaby Mountain to enjoy the phenomenon of the sound of “imploding” sphagnum capsules.
Besides Burns Bog, perhaps Belcarra for example has expansive groves of peat moss.

Other updates re: plant lessons

Should you want information for a successful plant rescue please feel free to contact me. divineviandiatyahoodotca I am grateful for the input from Maple Creek Stewards, and Burnaby Wildlife Rescue for their input to our Rescue efforts. I also found some helpful resources on the Osoyoos Desert Society Website Regionals situations always warrant documentation.

Sword ferns, deer ferns, tree saplings, huckleberry etc. replanted in natural areas the day of the rescue are all doing well.
The plants stored temporarilty behind Verdant, including vine maple, huckleberry, ferns and small fir, cedar, and hemlock have been planted (March 5, 2012).

For the balcony
Previous participants are noting that the bleeding heart does not fair well as a salvage
The Huckleberry does well if it has good shade In the case you have a huckleberry that does not look very healthy, I recommend moving it out of direct sunshine, and it will come back nicely.
An alder is a pretty tree for a balcony planter.
I haven’t had such success with

Historic Plant Salvages at UniverCity
History in the UniverCity Area comes Alive
Re: Trillium and other transplants to BWR: It’s Gardening time…
Photos of Goodyera Oblonfolia (Rattlesnake Plantain) and plants in storage for planting

Vivian
UNES

This list from the Burnaby BioBlitz is very useful if you are struggling to identify local plants.

A reminder the Annual Community Clean Up hosted this year by the SFU Scouts is coming up at the end of April

2008 UniverCity Community Clean Up. Organized by Lois Cohen and Anita

