How do we make community engagement fun?
How can we make community enjoy the task of environmental stewardship?

I have been involved in stewardship here in Burnaby since 2006. And always I come across the grateful feeling and appreciation of the important work in the last decade that has made traction to environmental stewardship. The repercussions are important here and elsewhere in the Lower Mainland.

From my own point of action I try to communicate my passion for the environment with those groups and people of action that I come across. I have had so many beautiful and wonderful experiences. I have to thank so many people for allowing me to join them in their work, as well as for contributing to tasks I have started.

Often my experiences are bittersweet as you can imagine. Joining hands in a native plant rescue ultimately means removal of complete ecosystem to make way for development up here on Burnaby Mountain in the UniverCity development.

I have heard this despair echoed across across the globe, for a university eco-density development in Denmark. I talked to a resident while visiting http://www.byoko.dk (ecological inspiration house, copenhagen) who shared my story of a sadness at removing natural habitat to make way for eco-density.

Japanese Knotweed is a particular (and worldwide) problem , a virulent invasive plant. It is tough like concrete once it enters an environment.

So I sent out word via email regarding a particular site.

Today I received a letter in response to a problem of Japanese Knotweed. I learned that a regular contact tackled this on a project in Seattle. Perhaps the additional information will lead to creative responses to tackling Knotweed along Stoney Creek…?

I am so grateful for the comraderie of those friends and associates whether in the beautiful Stoney Creek during streamkeeping exercises, up here in the forests during native plant rescues, or working in the wildlife garden at Burnaby Wildlife Rescue.

I value all of you who care to read this blog and I hope you will continue to enjoy the journey whether personally or together to help protect our delicate systems.

Remember there are many people out there who care for the environment, and sometimes there is that crucial bit of information we can share via email that may just be the key to an important problem!

Thanks,
Vivian

